Sen. Greg Kirk Recognized for His Efforts as Co-Chair of the COPS Task Force

Staff Report From Albany CEO

Tuesday, February 13th, 2018

Sen. John Albers (R – Roswell), Chairman of the Senate Public Safety Committee, recently recognized and commended Sen. Greg Kirk (R – Americus) for his success as Co-Chair of the Compensation of Police and Sheriffs Task Force.

“Sen. Kirk really went above and beyond the call of duty as Co-Chair of this year’s COPS Task Force,” said Sen. Albers. “Each of the pieces of legislation he sponsored will bring valuable change to Georgia’s law enforcement resources. I am glad to have passed each bill unanimously through the Public Safety Committee, and I look forward to supporting all three on the Senate floor.”

As a result of the task force’s efforts, Sen. Kirk sponsored three bills that were recently heard in the Senate Public Safety Committee. Senate Bill 367 would expand the list of qualifying individuals that can receive a state indemnification payment to include an estate. This one-time payment is only made if a law enforcement officer dies in the line of duty, or in service of the state. Senate Bill 368 would increase a local law enforcement agency’s access to technical support and assistance through the Criminal Justice Coordinating Council. Senate Bill 369 would require that the Peace Officers Annuity and Benefit Fund receive $5.00 of every pre-trial diversion fee collected. Each bill was given a “do pass” recommendation by the Public Safety Committee.

“Senator Greg Kirk is making a real difference in his district and all over Georgia by keeping people safe and serving those who protect us,” added Sen. Albers.

The task force brought together legislators with law enforcement agencies and community partners to address ways to better Georgia’s police force in regards to salary, training and retention needs. This year, Sen. Kirk served alongside Lt. Governor Casey Cagle and Sens. Tyler Harper (R – Ocilla), Jack Hill (R – Reidsville), Steve Gooch (R – Dahlonega), John Wilkinson (R – Toccoa) and Tonya Anderson (D – Lithonia).