Georgia Members of National Space Council’s Users Advisory Group Announced

Staff Report From Georgia CEO

Friday, February 23rd, 2018

State Representative Jason Spencer (R-Woodbine) announced that Vice President Mike Pence nominated several Georgians to serve on the National Space Council’s Users Advisory Group, including former Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives Newt Gingrich, Georgia Institute of Technology President Bud Peterson and Commercial Spaceflight Federation President Eric Stallmer.

“Our national leadership recognizes that Georgia has the assets and the leadership to contribute to the national discussion on space policy and commercial space recruitment,” said Rep. Spencer. “Georgia has a lot to offer in the policy area, and we will continue to move to becoming the next great space state.”

UAG’s mission is to facilitate close coordination, cooperation and technology and information exchange across the U.S. space industry. UAG nominees include former astronauts, policy makers, military leaders and industry participants. Nominees must be formally appointed by the Administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration before officially joining UAG.