Nine Georgia Communities Designated as Rural Zones

Staff Report From Georgia CEO

Wednesday, January 10th, 2018

The state has designated the communities of Bainbridge, Commerce, Cornelia, Fitzgerald, Jonesboro, Nashville, Perry, Springfield, and Toccoa as Rural Zones, a new program enacted by the legislature in 2017.  Portions of each community - primarily historic downtown areas - are now zoned to allow for tax credits to eligible businesses that create jobs and stimulate economic activity in these communities.
"The courthouse square and historic downtown has been the lifeblood of Georgia's rural communities," according to DCA Commissioner Christopher Nunn.  "The purpose of the Rural Zone is to encourage small business investment and job creation to help preserve these small town assets and stimulate economic activity in the community."
Rural Zones focus on jobs creation and private investment in designated areas.  The program includes three tax credit incentives: a Job Tax Credit, Investment Credit, and Rehabilitation Credit.  For more information, please visit: