Cagle Announces Winner of Lt. Governor’s 2017 Student Leadership Award

Staff Report From Georgia CEO

Monday, November 27th, 2017

Lt. Governor Casey Cagle announced the winner of the Lt. Governor’s 2017 Student Leadership Award, which recognizes one exceptional College and Career Academy student for outstanding accomplishments. Georgia’s College and Career Academies offer students endless opportunities to further their careers and educational pursuits. The students selected as nominees for this prestigious award represent highly-motivated individuals who are actively engaged in their communities.

This year’s winner of the Lt. Governor’s Student Leadership Award is Dylan Powers, a Senior at Putnam County College and Career Academy. Dylan was selected because of his outstanding academic record, in which he has earned 26 health care related college credits and three technical college certificates, and has obtained industry credentials as a Georgia certified nurse aide and emergency medical responder. Furthermore, Dylan has demonstrated his commitment to his community by volunteering more than 700 hours at Putnam General Hospital, organizing numerous Red Cross blood drives, and founding a student organization at Putnam County High School for aspiring health care professionals. As part of this honor, Dylan received a $500 scholarship sponsored by AT&T. 

“I am extremely proud of the students in our College and Career Academy Network,” said Lt. Governor Cagle. “Students like Dylan demonstrate why College and Career Academies are so important to Georgia’s economic future. By lifting academic ceilings and allowing students to soar as high as they can, our College and Career Academy Network is transforming the academic and professional development opportunities available to Georgia’s next generation. I am inspired by Dylan’s hard work, individual initiative, and passion for serving others as a health care professional – and I know he will continue working to make his community and our state a better place.”

Other nominees who were recognized include: Madeline Bumgardner (Calhoun CCA), Doster Harper (Newton CCA), Mitchel Holcomb (Northwest Georgia CCA), Ethan Holder (Polk County CCA), John King (Houston County CCA), Donovan Mitchell (William S. Hutchings CCA), Mark Moran (Floyd County Schools CCA), Jared Oberlin (Houston County Career Academy), Deonte Sandoval (Athens Community Career Academy), and Amun Bassue-Youngblood (Athens Community Career Academy).